• Making Connections
  • Posts
  • šŸŒ± How to do an EASY quarterly review (my Q1 review + template)

šŸŒ± How to do an EASY quarterly review (my Q1 review + template)

Hereā€™s my Q1 recap. The diterot effect. Bias toward action.

Todayā€™s the last day of Q1.Ā 

Hereā€™s your 3-minute rundown to get ready for Q2, aka your best quarter yet.Ā 

šŸ” Q1 Review

I didnā€™t always do a quarterly reviewā€¦

Until now.Ā 

Itā€™s too valuable of an exercise to neglect.Ā 

But in order for me to consistently do it, it must be EASY.Ā 

Hereā€™s an easy 3 step quarterly review process. Set a timer for 20 minutes and grab your pen (or laptop). Donā€™t worry about editing anything just start jotting down bullets for each of these:

  • What went well?Ā 

  • What are areas for improvement?Ā 

  • What are ideas for next 90 days?Ā 

Hereā€™s a screenshot from mine.Ā 

Screenshot from my Evernote

Google Doc template for you bc I love my newsletter subscriber homies

Let me know how it goes!

Hit reply and tell me one of your highlights from q1 or ideas for q2.Ā 

šŸ“ The "Diderot Effect"

The "Diderot Effect" (not to be confused with the Diddy effect šŸ˜¬) is a phenomenon where acquiring a new possession leads to a spiral of more new items.Ā 

Think getting a new house and then filling it up with bunch of stuff.

Simply put, we obtain a new container of space and fill it up with stuff.Ā 

It can be a physical space with physical things (house and furniture). But it doesn't have to be.Ā 

The same idea applies to other ā€œspacesā€ we commit to.

If you think about it, each 90-day chunk of the year is just a container of space. We then fill it with ā€œrandomnessā€ that comes along.

But what if it was more intentional? What if we could use the same Diderot effect to build positive chain reactions?

Turns out we can. However, this rarely works alone. I found there are 2 essential factors: payment & accountability.

  1. Payment - if I pay for it, it increases the chances I take it seriously

  2. Accountability - another person removes my ability to ā€œget out of itā€ or procrastinate

The payment also creates a clear start date and commitment period. A few examples:

  • Physical trainer ā†’ gym membership, exercise, healthy eating

  • Therapist ā†’ mental health exercises, emotional intelligence

  • Virtual Assitant ā†’ time to prioritize essentials, weekly clarity

What ā€œspaceā€ will you create in the next 90 days?Ā 

šŸ’Ŗ Bias Toward ActionĀ 

I saw this quote this week and it hit hard.

"You pile up enough tomorrows and you find youā€™re left with nothing but a lot of empty yesterdays."Ā 

Meredith Wilson

Ā Do it now.Ā 

Con mucho gusto,
MitchellĀ