🌱 My favorite mantra of the year

Go for it. Responding vs reacting. Small wins.

Welcome to the new people who joined this week! 

You can read the most popular earlier issues here

Now here are your 3 insights in 3 minutes for compressed insights. 

🟢 Go For It

I interviewed Laura Roeder (founder of MeetEdgar which she sold for 7 figures) earlier this year and one thing has been stuck in my head ever since…

Researching her story I noticed an obvious pattern for all her success. 

Her simple mantra, “You get what you go for.”

This landed her a speaking gig at the white house, her own SXSW panel, and dozens of partnerships/features. 

I love her answer when asked how she got all these things… “I just asked!”

Makes you think, what was the last thing you really went for? What are you going for right now? 

🤔 Responding or Reacting?

There’s a viral clip of an artist messing up his painting, but talking through and finishing it. 

The best part was his self-talk.

In a lighthearted and playful way, he expresses, “It’s not that deep, bro.” 

Takeaway: 

It’s not a matter of IF things don’t go to plan…

It’s WHEN things don’t go to plan. 

We can react or respond. 

A 𝗿𝗲𝗮𝗰𝘁𝗶𝗼𝗻 is impulsive. 
A 𝗿𝗲𝘀𝗽𝗼𝗻𝘀𝗲 is intentional. 

The artist’s painting didn’t go to plan. 

But instead of reacting with anger, he responds with lighthearted sarcasm. 

Reminds me of my favorite Viktor Frankl quote: 

“Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom.”

🎉 Small Wins 

Every year on my birthday (8/7) I’m reminded how the small things go a long way. 

A simple text, voice note, slack message (for example this #team slack message below) can spark joy in someone’s day. 

Great reminder to celebrate people’s small wins. 

lol this is spot on, thanks Kellyn!

Salud, 
Mitchell

Ps. Want to give me the best bday present ever?! Share my newsletter link with one friend who you think would enjoy it! (Win for them, you, and me! 🥳)