šŸŒ± A simple idea (taken seriously)

Simple idea by Munger. Championā€™s mindset. Poems for dummies.

Greetings from Austin,

I made a few connections this week that hit me like a ton of bricks.Ā 

Letā€™s dive in.Ā 

āœļø Munger Wisdom

This is one of my favorite Charlie Munger bars:Ā 

ā€œTake a simple idea and take it seriously.ā€

Writing is a simple idea.Ā 

Writing daily and being a part of two weekly writing groups in Austinā€¦ is me (starting) to take it seriously.Ā 

Simple steps to apply for yourself:

šŸ† Champion Mindset

I keep coming back to this sentence thatā€™s been stuck in my head:Ā 

"Champions behave like champions before they are champions."Ā 

Bill Walsh, Hall of Fame Coach

But how does one leap from amateur to champion?Ā 

Psychologist Anders Ericsson, a leading ā€˜Expert on Experts,' found the #1 difference between elite performers & amateurs:Ā 

ā€œFuture elite performers seek out teachers and coaches and engage in supervised training, whereas amateurs rarely engage in similar types of practice.ā€

This research was the inspiration for the best-selling book ā€œOutliersā€ by Malcolm Gladwell.Ā 

In essence, what we practice in private, gets rewarded in public.

But it's not enough to only practice.Ā 

Elite performance is driven by practice AND structured feedback.Ā 

This was the exact realization that inspired me to start the process of hiring a writing coach.Ā Ā 

Post here.

šŸ“–Ā Poetry (For dummies like me)

I love the idea of reading old poetry, but Iā€™ll be honestā€¦Ā 

Sometimes (aka most times) I feel like Iā€™m just missing it completely. (uhh what does this mean?!)

Then I found this website allpoetry which lists top poems alongside quick ai summaries.Ā 

All this time, I thought Robert Frost was racecar driver!Ā 

Check out the top 500 famous poems here.Ā 

Con mucho gusto,Ā 
Mitchell