šŸŒ± I wish I did this earlier (60 second website hack)

Hotline Bing. Anchor Piece. Russell Westbrookā€™s Why Not.

Happy Sunday. Here are 3 insights in 3 minutes to help you connect deeper to yourself and the world around you. 

ā€‹ā€‹šŸ“ˆ Hotline Bing

ChatGPT uses Bing for its search engine. 

(Microsoft is a large investor in ChatGPT and it also owns Bing.)

So to get more traffic to your website from Bing/ChatGPT, just enable Bingā€™s Webmaster Tools (equivalent to Google Search Console) to crawl your site. 

I did this two months ago after my friend Rob pointed this out to me.

It only took 60 seconds, but Iā€™ll be honest, I didn't think it would have any impact.  

Until I just checked today and itā€™s already generating traffic. 

Further, I found searches that Bing is directly referencing and linking to my blog posts (such as this Seed Oils article I wrote a few years ago). 

ChatGPT doesnā€™t show reference sites anymore, but it will if you ask it. Which is how I can see Iā€™m ranking there as well.

šŸ’”Pro Tip: Ask for specific ways to improve that blog post to rank even higher

Compare this to Google Search Console where Iā€™m getting 300 clicks per 28 days. Both are growing and I can use ChatGPT for specific ideas to rank higher.

Remember these are all organic searches from literally zero extra work.

Checkout Bing Webmasters to get more visibility to your website. 

This very well could be the highest ROI of 60 seconds youā€™ll do all year. 

āš“ Anchor Piece

Regardless of your online presence, you have a reputation. (Small or big reputation)

Tim Ferriss has one of the biggest reputations in the business/productivity corner of the internet. 

He recently shared how this is more important now than ever: 

ā€œI think reputation and credibility is the new gold... This is going to become increasingly scarce and increasingly valuable.ā€ 

Even if you donā€™t have a personal website you should start with an anchor piece

Trung Phan is one of my favorite online writers (smart + hilarious business breakdowns). 

He says everyone, regardless of industry, should write online. Specifically, starting with a single ā€œanchor pieceā€ about something youā€™re deeply knowledgeable about. 

This is content you can share with anyone and pin to your social profile (X, LinkedIn, etc.). 

Start in a Google doc and write it as if youā€™re sharing it with a friend.

šŸ¤” Why Not

Funny thing about how the world works today is that you donā€™t really need permission for anything. 

NBA player Russell Westbrook grew up in the inner city and didnā€™t think he had any shot at making it to the leagueā€¦ Until he did. 

In high school, he adopted a mantra with his friends that he still uses today. Itā€™s called ā€œWhy not?ā€ 

From little things (ā€œlets go run in the middle of the streetā€¦ why not?ā€) to big things like making it to the NBA. 

Now he started the Why Not? Foundation to share this message with more people in need. 

I just made a small donation becauseā€¦why not? 

Reminds me of this quote I love: 

ā€œThe question isnā€™t who is going to let me: itā€™s who is going to stop me.ā€ 

-Ayn Rand

What permission are you waiting for this month? What if you did it anywayā€¦Why not?

Con gusto, 
Mitchell